DeepSeaElkFish

I make and play games! Let's talk about them.

Game Showcase: Thermonucleosis

Leave a comment

I thought the best way to really get this blog going was by showcasing some of the games I’ve already created. Let’s begin by looking at what I think may be my most widely appealing–by which I mean ‘least weird’– game. Let’s look at Thermonucleosis.

Look at that title screen.

Look at that title screen.

Thermonucleosis is the second game I’ve publicly released, but at the time of the this post, it is the only game in any official marketplace. It is currently listed in the Chrome Web Store, where you can download it for free. Of course, if you don’t use Chrome as your default browser, you can still play it by clicking just about any other link to the game. In the game, you play as a heat-seeking missile, and the goal is simply to avoid asteroids, hit enemy spaceships, and collect power-ups. Your score increases the farther the missile travels, and you gain additional points by destroying the enemies. Collecting a power-up will increase your overall score multiplier, but your speed increases as well. In other words, power-ups increase your score, but they will also increase difficulty. Collision with an asteroid will cause the missile to explode and end the game. The game also keeps track of the overall highest score, and this score is saved until you beat it.

The missile's about to hit an enemy. Sweet.

The missile’s about to hit an enemy. Sweet.

The idea behind the game was to create something easily accessible that anyone could play and replay. It’s not necessarily all that deep, but it’s a fully functional, complete game. Also, everything works, which is just about the best thing you can say about an early project. Additionally, I wanted to create a game that was easy to play, but also wasn’t a total clone of an already existing game. While space shooters are fairly common, I liked modifying the core concept, so that you are encouraged to fly straight into as many  enemies as you can, instead of keeping your distance and shooting them down. Since you control a heat-seeking missile, I thought I could make the game stand out visually by going with a thermal-imaging look. In broader terms, I also wanted to have the whole experience of creating, finishing, and publishing a game, and overall, I’m satisfied with how it turned out. Each game I’ve created has been a little deeper and more ambitious than the last, and I’m looking forward to releasing more games in the future.

In any case, try the game out for yourself. I’ve got links in the article and in the sidebar, but I’ll include them again below. I’m open to constructive feedback, so let me know if you have any comments or questions.

Play Online

Chrome Store Link

Leave a Reply

